I swear this shrug is cursed! I knew something back in 2007 when I started this thing. I should have just frogged it and made something else a long time ago. Since I can’t go back in time I will just have to make do with what I have. What’s the problem you ask? Well I seamed the armholes and they look great! Then I picked up the stitches for the ribbing, worked the 3 1/2 inches they told me to knit and I proudly bound off. Carl arrived home after a client dinner shortly before I finished so he was there to see me put this thing on or at least my attempt.

There are several problems with this thing:

  1. I hate the lighter color with the main color of the body but there’s very little I can do about that.
  2. The ribbing is way too short at 3 1/2 inches. I don’t know what the designer was thinking. To be honest, I probably did something wrong but it’s early and I’m still getting my caffeine so I’m going to blame someone else. I can blame myself later today.
  3. There aren’t enough stitches in the ribbing so the circumference is too small.
  4. I bound off too tight.

So what to do now? Well, I’m going to rip out the ribbing this morning so I can come home and:

  1. Pick up twice as many stitches and not go down a needle size as instructed,
  2. Double (at least) the length of the ribbing.
  3. I’m going to bind off using Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind Off.

If it still doesn’t fit and still looks like crap I’m going to hide this thing in the deepest, darkest recesses of my closet and never EVER speak of it again. I hope this doesn’t happen though. The yarn is sooo beautiful and it was a bit of an investment. I would hate to have to punish it like that. It’s not the yarn’s fault.

I’m off to rip.

