This week I’m sharing another GORGEOUS yarn from Milana Hilados in Buenos Aires.

It’s a very hard yarn to photograph properly. It’s a gorgeous thick and thin yarn with these tiny flower like things sprinkled throughout and I just had to have it. I don’t know why the two yarns I purchased at this shop were both shades of purple but I guess that’s the mood I was in that day. I’m sure someone can tell me what that says about my mood that day but I know that I was VERY happy. Perhaps purple is the color of a yarn high.

I bought just one little ball of this yarn thinking I could make a little purse. But before I can cast-on I need to find the perfect handles. I’m on a hunt and one day I will find something that suits this yarn. I’m thinking of a really simple rectangle just stitched up the sides. I believe a simple “pattern” will really showcase the yarn but you really need see it in person to truly appreciate its true beauty.

To seemingly make up for last night Carl left work at 5 today and drove up to a friend’s place in the Bronx to hang out tonight. I was invited but I decided it was better for me to hang out in the apartment alone. So I plan on watching my Sit and Spin video while I work on my 8th hexagon (and maybe even my 9th?!) while I get a feel of what the video is about. Maybe I will even dig out the wheel and try some of the techniques. I’ve got a feeling that tonight’s gonna be a good good night…(try to get that song out of your head).

Yesterday, the Spring issue of Wild Fibers arrived. I cracked it open and found that they have an article about Nilda Callanaupa Alvarez and the Center for Traditional Textiles of Cusco, Peru. Why am I so excited about this article? Well, we are going to Peru for our honeymoon and will be spending two days in Cusco while we acclimate to the altitude before heading out on the Inca Trail. Yippee! I started reading the article on the ride home tonight and they couldn’t have published this at a better time! I can’t wait to get to Cusco so I can see the center and the weavings. I’m not a weaver and I never plan on learning (mostly because there is no room in my life for additional fiber hobbies) but I am I lover of all textiles and textiles arts. I can’t wait to see the weavers in action. I’m not sure how Carl will feel about this but we can visit the center and then find something he’s interested in to do after. I think that will be fair.

If you don’t read Wild Fibers you really should. It’s a bit expensive to subscribe to but it is worth every penny. I read every issue cover to cover and I learn something new about the fiber world with every article. Carl and I have a very bad travel bug and this magazine makes me want to travel to even more places that I had either never thought of or never heard of. I’m always showing him the articles and saying things like “please please please can we go to this tiny wind swept island where all the people have left because it’s the harshest place for humans to ever live and there’s a rare breed of sheep that still lives there in the wild and I want to see them!!!” And he looks at me like I’m a little nuts but then we add it to the mental list of places we just have to see. I’m completely jealous that other people get to travel the world and see these things for a living while I sit in my cubicle experiencing NOTHING. If I was a better writer or a better photographer I might be able to write for a magazine like Wild Fibers but alas I am merely mediocre. But maybe my fairy godmother will come and grant my wish.

