Yesterday I did two things, I read and I picked out the last fabric for my wedding gown. You’ll notice that neither of those things are knitting related in anyway. I’m a very bad knitter (but an excellent reader!).

After finishing  The Dead Travel Fast on Saturday I jumped right into another Deanna Raybourn book, Silent in the Grave. I was so engrossed in the story they I barely put it down, reading late into the evening last night so I could finish the story. And alas, no knitting. I made of point of ordering the next book instead of stopping by the bookstore tonight so I will at least have reading free night tonight and maybe tomorrow. My amazon orders ship pretty darn fast and it should be here tomorrow but you never know. I’m still aiming for cutting my steeks this weekend and I will stick to my plan even if I have to leave Lady Julia and Brisbane alone for a few nights to do it.

The only time I did put the book down yesterday was to head downtown to Lace Star to pick out the last and possibly most fun fabric for my wedding dress — beaded lace. Here’s just a little taste of what we had to choose from:

IMG_0144

IMG_0143

IMG_0147

IMG_0148

I won’t tell you which one we chose but here’s my little seamstress (a.k.a my mother) making sure we had enough lace for the dress.

IMG_0149

The rest of the dress is a gorgeous dupioni silk in a slightly off-white. Really it’s just the natural color of the silk but when I say natural it always makes me think of something darker and more creamy. It’s going to be stunning!!! I can’t wait to show off the finished dress in a few months time. I’d show it sooner but Carl might look and that would be very bad luck. And we wouldn’t want that.

OOO just got the call with Carl’s ETA so it’s time for me to wrap this up and put dinner on.

